• Call Us+123-456-7890 & 23
  • Email atSupport@news.com
  • Office HrsMon - Sat: 9.00am to 18.00pm

Justice (r) Nasir ul Mulk to be the caretaker PM

ISLAMABAD: Former Chief Justice of Pakistan, Justice (retd) Nasir-ul-Mulk has been announced caretaker prime minister on Monday.

Leader of Opposition in the National Assembly Khursheed Shah announced that Justice (retd) Mulk will take reigns as head of the caretaker setup while addressing a press conference along with Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi and National Speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq.

"We have selected a candidate for caretaker premier who will prove to play a democratic role in the upcoming general election," the premier said while addressing the press conference.

"Appreciate the role of National Assembly Speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq in the selection of caretaker premier," Shah said.

"I am glad that Pakistan Peoples Party reached out to the opposition parties," he further said.

"It was a challenge for all of us and all names that were put forth were credible and respectable individuals," he added. "We tried to make a decision which will be acceptable to the nation and Parliament."

"Former CJP Nasirul Mulk has been nominated as caretaker premier," Shah announced.

This was the sixth meeting between the two, with the previous five ending in a deadlock.

Speaking to media after the meeting, Shah remarked that both parties are trying their best to finalize the caretaker PM. "Hopefully, there will be consensus on the caretaker premier," he said, adding that they will prove that parliament is superior and that such decisions can be made in parliament. 

Ahead of the meeting, Shah had told reporters that both the parties would try their best to decide on a name for the caretaker prime minister. 

If there was no consensus reached, then the only option would be to send the matter to a parliamentary committee, Shah added. 

Expressing his confidence in the meeting, the premier had remarked that he hoped a consensus would be reached in today’s meeting. “If there is no consensus, then the issue will be sent to a parliamentary committee.”

  • Caretaker PM
  • Justice
  • Nasir ul Mulk
  • Prime Minster
  • Opposition leader